Crunch Time for Super Bowl

Well, unfortunately, my New York Giants weren’t able to get a playoff berth, ensuing an ugly season. I thought Eli Manning was terrible for most of the year, and the defense was shaky. The Giants always lose games that they are definitely capable of winning, year after year, and it’s quite frustrating, if you ask me.

In my opinion, the Giants SHOULD have a top-ranked offense, given their talent receiving, passing, and rushing. The Giants should also have a top-ranked defense, especially with their ridiculous talent on the defensive line, including Justin Tuck and Jason Pierre-Paul. It’s actually cool though because Jason Pierre-Paul’s cousin, Nika, is in my grade, and in my gym class. That’s pretty awesome!

Anyway, last week, the Broncos, Texans, Seahawks, and Packers were eliminated from the playoffs. Honestly, I really wanted to see the Seattle Seahawks go all the way. They had a heart-breaking loss to the Falcons in the final seconds, and controversial play-calling was a key factor. Peyton Manning had a phenomenal first year back from neck surgery with the Broncos, yet just fell short to a talented Ravens team.

The two conference championships consist of the Pats vs. Ravens, and 49ers vs. Falcons. Personally, I think the main reason the Patriots are so good is because Tom Brady attended the University of Michigan. But, you know, that’s just me. No matter how biased I am, the Patriots’ offense is unstoppable, even without star tight-end Rob Gronkowski.

The Ravens, on the other hand, are quite different. Ray Lewis, star linebacker, is retiring after this season, and he is convinced his Ravens and he can capture a Super Bowl victory before his retirement. I doubt it, but we’ll see.With good talent on offense, including Ray Rice, Torrey Smith, and Joe Flacco, the Ravens have a chance at keeping up with Brady. That is, if their defense gets a few key stops.

NFC-Championship-300x167 AFC-Championship-Game-300x171

In the NFC, the 49ers are playing very well on both sides of the football. Their defense is physical, talented, and very difficult to beat. And, due to a recent quarterback change, Colin Kaepernick has stepped up, and given this offense a new, explosive element. I first watched him start against the Bears’ tenacious D, while I was in California for Thanksgiving. He was fantastic, leading the niners to a big win.

On the other side of the football you have the Atlanta Falcons, who have had recent trouble in the playoffs. The talent on offense is amazing, including Julio Jones, Roddy White, Michael Turner, and Matt Ryan. Their defense, in my opinion isn’t so good, yet they force turnovers, which could be a key factor in the conference championship game.

Now, Patriots vs. Ravens: who wins? Pats, no doubt. Their defense has gotten better, forcing many turnovers, and the offense is too much. Averaging over 34 points per game, the Pats rushing game is very good with Stevan Ridley, to go along with Brady’s passing scheme on offense. Pats roll, 38-20.

And, the NFC championship: Niners vs. Falcons, in Atlanta: who wins? Niners, all the way. Colin Kaepernick and Frank Gore are unstoppable right now. Last week, the Niners recorded over 300 rush yards, and over 250 pass yards. Atlanta doesn’t have the defense to slow down Kaepernick and Gore, and the 49ers’ defense is a force to be reckoned with, despite Atlanta’s talented offense. Niners advance, 34-24.

Then, in the Super Bowl… Hmm… That’s tough. A great game for sure, but I think the Pats redeem themselves after losing to my New York Giants last year, and they win 27-24. Tell me your thoughts and predictions in the “comments”!

2 thoughts on “Crunch Time for Super Bowl

  1. I’m sorry I didn’t get to leave a comment sooner or I would have said that i like your reasoning with all the teams, but I had to disagree with your predictions a little. I also loved the 49’ers and also felt they were going to win and be in the Super Bowl. However, I wasn’t surprised they had such trouble with the Falcons. Atlanta is a very good offensive team and they were playing at home, which is a significant advantage. I know New England has a powerful offense, but their defense is questionable and they have not played particularly well in playoff games the past few years. Baltimore is a really good team, their defense is pretty healthy now, Joe Flacco is an under-rated quarterback and they have great receivers. They also have that extra edge in wanting to win one for the retiring Ray Lewis. I thought they would win and I think they will win the Super Bowl. Anyway, thats my pick and I’m sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

